"Dave Alexander" Elam/Omar Sharriff

Vocals, Piano


Date of Birth: March 10, 1938    Shreveport, LA

Date of Death:  January 8, 2012    Marshall, TX

Place of Burial:  Algoma Cemetery

                          2358 East Houston Street

                          Marshall, TX 75672

Has Marker: Yes

Grave Location: 


The Rattler, Arhoolie Records (1067)

The Dirt On The Ground, Arhoolie Records (1071)

Omar Shariff: The Raven, Arhoolie Records (365)

Omar Sharriff: Black Widow Spider, Have Mercy (HMCD-08)

Omar Sharriff: Baddass, Have Mercy (HMCD-11)

Omar Sharriff: Anatomy Of A Woman, Have Mercy (HMCD-13)

L. C. ''Good Rockin'' Robinson, Lafayette "Thing" Thomas, Dave Alexander, Oakland Blues, World Pacific Records (WPS-21893)


Bogdanov, Vladimir et al. (Ed.). All Music Guide to The Blues. San Francisco: Backbeat Books, 2003, 3rd Edition.

Harris, Sheldon. Blues Who’s Who. New York: Da Capo Press, 1979.

Herzhaft, Gérard. Encyclopedia of the Blues (Second Edition). Fayetteville: University of Arkansas Press, 1997.

Koster, Rick. Texas Music. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1998.

Kunstadt, Len. “Ann Arbor Blues Festival,” Record Research, Issue 109, February 1971, pp. 3-4.

     https://archive.org/stream/RecordResearchMagazine/109#page/n1/mode/2up. Accessed June 16, 2017.

Larkin, Colin. Virgin Encyclopedia Of The Blues. London: Virgin Books, 1998.

Livingston, Stanley and Michael Erlewine. Blues in Black & White. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2010.

Santelli, Robert. The Big Book Of Blues. New York: Penguin Books, 2001 (revised).

Sporke, Michael. Big Mama Thornton: The Life and Music. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, Inc., 2014.

© 2019 Texas Blues Project

  • Twitter Metallic
  • s-facebook