Frankie Lee Sims

Vocals, Guitar

Date of Birth:  April 30, 1917    Dallas, TX

Date of Death:  May 10, 1970    Dallas, TX

Place of Burial:  Lincoln Memorial Cemetery

                         1311 Murdock Road

                         Dallas, TX 75217

Has Marker:  Yes

Grave Location:  Block 25, Lot 15, Space 7


Frankie Lee Sims and Bluebonnet Trio - Cross Country Blues / Home Again Blues, Bluebonnet Record (147)

Frankie Lee Sims and His Guitar Trio - Don't Forget Me Baby / Single Man Blues, Bluebonnet Record (148)

Lucy Mae Blues / Don't Take It Out On Me, Specialty (SP-459)

I'm Long Long Gone / Yeh Baby, Speciality (SP-478)

Rhumba My Boogie / I'll Get Along Somehow (SP-487)

What Will Lucy Do? / Misery Blues, Ace Records (524)

Hey Little Girl / Walking With Frankie, Ace Records (527)


Walkin' With Frankie, Krazy Kat (KK 7428)

Lucy Mae Blues, Specialty (SPS-2124)

Lucy Mae Blues, Specialty (SPCD-7022-2)

Walkin' With Frankie, Jasmine Records (JASMCD3066)

Frankie Lee Sims & Mercy Dee Walton - Music With A Swagger, JSP Records (JSP4217A)


Barkley, Ron et al. The Handbook of Texas Music. Austin: Texas State Historical Association, 2003.

Bogdanov, Vladimir et al. (Ed.). All Music Guide to The Blues. San Francisco: Backbeat Books, 2003, 3rd Edition.

Cohn, Lawrence. Nothing But the Blues. New York: Abbeville Press, 1993.

Evans, David. Big Road Blues. New York: Da Capo Press, 1982.

Evans, David (Ed.). Ramblin’ On My Mind: New Perspectives on the Blues. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2008.

Govenar, Alan. Meeting the Blues – The Rise of the Texas Sound. New York: Da Capo Press, 1995.

______. Texas Blues: The Rise of a Contemporary Sound. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2008.

______. Lightnin’ Hopkins – His Life and Blues. Chicago: Chicago Review Press, 2010.

______ and Jay Brakefield. Deep Ellum: The Other Side of Dallas. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2013.

Greensmith, Bill, Mike Rowe, and Mark Camarigg. Blues Unlimited. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2015.

Harris, Sheldon. Blues Who’s Who. New York: Da Capo Press, 1979.

Herzhaft, Gérard. Encyclopedia of the Blues (Second Edition). Fayetteville: University of Arkansas Press, 1997.

Koster, Rick. Texas Music. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1998.

Larkin, Colin. Virgin Encyclopedia Of The Blues. London: Virgin Books, 1998.

Mould, Todd. Way Down in Louisiana. Lafayette: University of Louisiana at Lafayette Press, 2015.

Obrecht, Jas (Ed.). Rollin’ And Tumblin’. San Francisco: Miller Freeman Books, 2000.

© 2019 Texas Blues Project

  • Twitter Metallic
  • s-facebook